Grading Of Intruder Alarm Systems

Unsure what the grading system of intruder alarms mean?

The grade of intruder alarm system may be particularly important if you are depending on the alarm system for insurance cover. Insurers may specify a particular grade of system or aspect of design depending on the nature of the risk you are aiming to protect.

An overview of the grading system levels detailed in BS EN 50131- 1 is given below:

Grade 1 – Low risk
Intruders are expected to have little knowledge of the alarm system and may be restricted to a limited range of easily available tools.
Grade 2 – Low to medium risk
Intruders are expected to have a little more knowledge of the alarm system and use a general range of tools and some specialist equipment.
Grade 3 – Medium to high risk
Intruders are expected to be conversant with the alarm system and have a comprehensive range of tools and portable electronic equipment.
Grade 4 – High risk
To be used when security takes precedence over all other factors. Intruders are expected to have the resources to plan an intrusion in detail and have a full range of equipment, including the means to substitute vial components in the alarm system.


extract courtesy of Security Systems and Alarms Inspection Board (SSAIB)

Most domestic installations will require a Grade 1 or 2 with larger homes falling into Grade 3. Most commercial premises will require a Grade 2 or 3 system. The majority of insurance companies require a Grade 3 system where the system is a requirement of insurance cover.

check list for alarms

Call us on 01702 416185 or contact us to see how we can help today.

Share this page:

Leave a comment